Schanilec Wins Hertzog Award

Carl Hertzog Award Winner and Runners-up

Mr. Gaylord Schanilec of Stockholm, Wisconsin, will be presented with the tenth Carl Hertzog Award for Excellence in Book Design and Mr. J. P. Bryan, Chairman and CEO of Torch Energy Advisors Inc. in Houston, will deliver the twelfth Carl Hertzog lecture at ceremonies on Saturday, February 4, 2006, at the University of Texas at El Paso. The national competition and lecture are part of Carl Hertzog Day sponsored by the Friends of the University Library.

In addition to a cash award of $1,000, Mr. Schanilec received a specially struck bronze medallion, and a framed certificate for his design of the book Mayflies of the Driftless Region, written by Clarke Garry and printed by Midnight Paper Sales, 2005. This year’s judges selected Mayflies of the Driftless Region from other entries, which represented a diverse range of style, creativity and production techniques. The judges commended Mayflies of the Driftless Region for its complexity of material and its consistency of presentation, and said that it was surprisingly beautiful for a scientific book. The judges also noted that Mr. Shanilec also produced an elegant binding that was very appropriate for the subject.

A team of three judges reviewed the 79 books submitted for this year's competition. The books represented 47 designers (or teams including authors, editors, and others) and 32 publishers. The judges this year were: Enid Mark, Ninth Carl Hertzog Book Design Award Winner, Book Artist, and proprietor of The ELM Press; Tom Moore, Retired Cartoonist of “Archie Comics” fame, freelancer, and teacher of Computerized Graphic Art, and Robert A. Seal, Hertzog Competition Founder, past Hertzog judge, and Dean of Libraries at Loyola University Chicago.

This year the judges selected three honorable mentions, in no particular order:

1. The China I Knew by Rose Covarrubias.
Designer: Terry Horrigan. Printed by: Protean Press, 2005.
2. The Old in Their Knowing by Robert Bringhurst.
Designer: Peter Koch. Printed by: Editions Koch, 2005.
3. Naming by Philip Levine.
Designer: Chad Oness. Printed by: Sutton Hoo Press, 2004.

Leave a Reply