Alcuin Society awards for best-looking limited-edition books of 2010

It’s always exciting to see the winners of the annual Alcuin Society Awards for Excellence in Book Design in Canada — especially when FPBA members appear in the top of the list. This year, Crispin Elsted of Barbarian Press and Jason Dewinetz appear three times in the Limited Editions category. And Andrew Steeves of fine press/trade hybrid Gaspereau Press, who also designs the North American issues of Parenthesis, appears four times in various categories. Nice work, gentlemen!

Each year, the Alcuin Society gives award for the best book designs in the the following categories: childrens’, limited editions, pictorial, poetry, prose non-fiction, prose fiction, and reference; the jury changes from year to year. This time round, the entries were judged by Alan Brownoff, Dr. Shelley Gruendler, and CS Richardson. Here’s a few photos of the judges at work. This year there wee 37 winning titles from 217 entries, from 9 provinces and 96 publishers.

In the Limited Edition Category, the winners are:

First prize: CRISPIN ELSTED, designer of The Play of Pericles, Prince of Tyre … by William Shakespeare, edited with commentary by Crispin Elsted; illustrated by Simon Brett (Barbarian Press).

Second prize (tie): JASON DEWINETZ, designer of Alphabetum Romanum: the Letterforms of Felice Feliciano, c.1460 (Greenboathouse Press).

Second prize (tie): LINDA GUSTAFSON, designer of Words Have No Meaning, edited by Zengetsu Myokyo (Enpuku-ji Press).

Third prize (tie): RAPHAËL DAUDELIN, designer of L’Absent by Fernand Ouellette, illustrated by Christian Gardair (les éditions du passage).
Third prize (tie): JASON DEWINETZ, designer of Light & Char by Jake Kennedy (Greenboathouse Press).

The full list of award winners in all categories can be seen here.

— Paul Razzell

Leave a Reply